Skip To Main Content

Student Resource Services

Mission

At RHS, our Special Education Team's mission is to provide support services for scholars who have been identified as having one or more of the disabilities referenced in state and federal law per their Individual Education Programs. We are committed to providing scholars with tools and strategies that will equip them for success in high school and beyond.

Important Terms

Article 7: Indiana’s special education regulations that are found in the Indiana Administrative Code (IAC) at 511 IAC 7-32 through 7-47.

Individualized Education Plan (IEP): a written document that is developed, reviewed, and revised by the CCC describing how the scholar will access the general education curriculum (if appropriate) and the special education and related services to be provided.

Teacher of Record (TOR): once a student is evaluated and determined eligible for services under Article 7, the student will be assigned a Teacher of Record. The "Teacher of Record" refers to the single special education teacher to whom a student with a disability is assigned.

Resource Seminar

Most of the students who have IEPs will be enrolled in a resource seminar. These seminars are supervised study periods that provide time for scholars to study, complete independent practice work, and/or remediate mastery assessments. The behavioral expectations for the seminars are the same as any other academic environment across campuses.

Resource Services

The Special Education Resource team provides the following services based on individual student needs:

  • Small group support
  • One on one instruction
  • Grade checks
  • Organizational support
  • Push-in support (Inclusion)
  • Pull-out support
  • Speech and Language Therapy
  • Occupational Therapy and more

Special Education Manual

Both campuses within ICS follow the policies and procedures outlined in the manual below.

Special Education Manual

Special Education & Resource Team

Kelli Luck, MA, Director of Special Education - kluck@herronhighschool.org

Jessica Juett, MA, Certified Special Education Teacher – jjuett@riversidehighschool.org

Risa Krauter, BA, Special Education Teacher - rkrauter@herronhighschool.org

Lyndsey Mason, MA, Special Education Teacher - lmason@riversidehighschool.org

Gabby Moscato-Goodpaster, Special Education Teacher - gmoscato-goodpaster@riversidehighschool.org

Evan Craig, Resource – Instructional Assistant – ecraig@riversidehighschool.org

Office Hours

Our Resource Team schedules office hours by appointment only. If your scholar wants to meet with his/her TOR for office hours in the morning or afterschool, please make sure that she/he personally schedules the time with the TOR.